Monthly Music; Compilerbau

Ah, monthly music. This time the song was selected due to the fact that my time is slowly coming to an end here elsewhere. I have learned something new and managed to further solidify what I already had acquired.

Which actually raised a question in my head at one point; knowing how to do something is one thing, but how it is conveyed to someone and in which manner is highly important, a matter that service design heavily invests in. To know what your customer expectsfrom you varies from culture to culture, and here elsewhere I’ve noticed that while I can act mostly the same as back home, there have been some key differences. For example, self-service cashiers have been a new but very welcome thing, but the amount of plastic bags offered is just insane. Within this culture it is assumed that everybody uses more than one flimsy piece of plastic that barely holds a full bottle of coke, whereas back home everyone is encouraged to use as few plastic bags as possible and are offered sturdy cloth bags to be used or just as sturdy paperbags. Little things like this make the difference, especially when you’re there face to face with your customer, or even through the Internet.

Knowing the background of what you’re expected is important. Basic cultural knowledge is expected wherever you might work. Would I be able to work here the same way as I would back home? I doubt I would and the time it would take me to adapt to the local culture would be slightly more significant. I am rather sad to note that most of my time here has gone with high amount of work, which means that I have not yet seen much outside the city. Luckily, by the time you read this I am well over done with my demanded workload and will be travelling towards North to hunt fossils and dinosaur footprints.

As I will most likely need to broaden my possible customer base in the future, I have to study Russian history during the summer in order to understand them better. Not to say that I do not have basic knowledge of their history, but deeper understanding will always benefit me more, hopefully even profit. The recent events in Ukraine actually triggered this to some extent, but that’s a small thing compared to my wish to further explore history, one of my favourite subjects next to female body studies.

In other metanews, by the time this post is out, the page A good artist is a service provider has now been revamped to reflect the evolution this blog has seen through these three years.  The new name of that page is now Craftsman and beyond; the purpose of this site. The old splashtext will be left there for history to laugh at me. To give some history, I started this blog from remnants of my older blog with awful content and at the time there was no true direction where I would go with all this. There exist some personal entries early on, a thing I have completely excisedfrom the blog outside what is relevant for the blog to some extent, like these Monthly musics.

I have noted that the amount of images on this blog has also seen a drastic drop. This is mostly because during these four months or so I haven’t had an access to my considerable pool of usable images, and that I have tried to keep them at minimum for the sake of your browser. I’ve got few comments that certain posts have been rather image heavy and caused problems. Well I wouldn’t know about that and I don’t give a damn if your toaster can’t show an image of questionable nature.

In another notion, we will be returning to the standard two posts per week around late July or Early march, whichever gives me a breather and allows me to set myself into the normal daily rhythm. Whatever plans I had prior January will be returned to if they are  worth at the time any more. I’m having a feeling that it might be a definitive No.

Leave a Reply

