Leonard Nimoy, March 26, 1931 – February 27, 2015

Star Trek was, and still is, an inspirational piece of science-fiction. It’s importance to world wide culture should not be underestimated. To those who have never seen Star Trek, they know of Spock, of the proverb and perhaps even the Vulcan greeting hand gesture. I was one of those, as before I saw one episode of Star Trek at my younger age I already knew many things through other cultural outlets and people.

Then I remember seeing Star Trek for the first time on television. I can still recall the wonder, even if hazily.  Captain Kirk, the fierce and courageous captain of the Enterprise, followed by his crew to new adventures time after time. Spock, of course, offered the balance to the passionately burning humanity Kirk had with his pure logic.

However, it wasn’t my first Star Trek experience. The Voyage Home was my first touch with the franchise. Jumping into the franchise practically in the middle of a story wasn’t the best idea, but the characters spoke for themselves. There was no need to separate introductions, as the actors played the characters to perfection, and later I learned that Nimoy really pulled the best out of the cast.

I admired Spock and I do notice some aspects the character has rubbed off to me. While Leonard Nimoy’s personal life is more or less unknown to me outside his appearances and few other works, I still feel that there was as much Spock in him as Spock had Nimoy.

There is, and will always be, a search inside all of us. We balance between the logic and emotions every day, and listening to a person who wrestled with these matters inside and outside a role is a good place to start.

May we raise a toast to Leonard Nimoy, a man who has moved from time to eternity, to a man who will be immortal as long as we remember him.

Leave a Reply

