Music of the Month; WANTED!

We’re going to return towards more video game music with these month openers. What a better way to open than use a song that’s essentially a poster child a game series called Metal Max. The series is like a cross-bred hybrid between Terminator, Mad Max and a 1990’s environmental messaging. How? The game series takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where the initiator was a supercomputer called Noah. Noah’s initial intent was to save the world through recycling, but deemed human race a threat and orchestrated a war to wipe out humanity. Didn’t do that good a job, but Noah’s recycled creations, like a hippo with a cannon in its mouth, roam the world. The main character in each game is a Monster Hunter, a person who goes out there to deal with these recycled monster hybrids while dealing with their own stuff.

The series’ main is its vehicles, which you can customise to an extent. There is a huge emphasize on tanks, because why not? The above remix’s image and the cover scan below probably tell you a lot just by looking at them.

Metal Max_1500.jpg

Sadly, only one game in the series was ever localised in the West, and that was a spin-off of sorts named Metal Saga. The reason for this was that the developers and publisher went bankrupt, the rights fell into obscurity before they were acquired by Kadokawa Games

I’ll probably return to write more about the series as I play the games. It’s one of those I’ve been wanting to get in for number of years now, and finally broke down and I am tracking each game in the series that I can purchase. Rather than doing a game-by-game review, I’m considering doing a series-wide review. That’d be something interesting and I probably could do a some sort of video on how the song above has evolved throughout the ages. As a side note, the song’s original title is お尋ね者との戦い, Otazunemonoto no Tatakai, or The Battle with the Wanted in some early soundtracks. Later on it was simplified in English as WANTED! and serves just fine.

As for what plans I’m having for this month’s posts, I’ll aim to do a TSF related comparison of some sorts after a long time. I’ve tried to keep up with the whole transforming mechas in this relation for the year, and as there really aren’t a huge amount of transforming TSFs, I’ve put A-6 Intruder’s review on hold for some time now. There isn’t a whole lot to talk about between the TSF and the real life plane, but there are some interesting design choices that are lifted from the good ol’ Grumman attack aircraft.

I’d better explain why 8Bit Music Power Final wasn’t reviewed last month despite I having all intentions of doing so. The reason for this is that Amazon Japan fucked up my order and despite my early pre-order, they never shipped a unit to me. Hell, they don’t even have one stock, if their reply to my inquiry when they might ship it. I was compensated a whole three hundred yen, translating to whole damn 2,46€, for them essentially dismissing the order for whatever reason.

Because of that I picked up another peculiarity from an online retro game store. The Hori Famicom Commander Mini controller was something I expected to be just a curiosity, as Hori seems to have a knack with their smaller controllers, but ‘lo and behold I really grew fond of the little bugger. I do intend to switch out its cord to another one, or do a dual-mod, where it has both NES and Famicom style connectors.

All in all, maybe this means I have another month to go to procure an item to review. That just leaves the rest of the year open. I’ll probably need to up my game in this regard, in some monetary restrictions, mind you. Perhaps the aforementioned series-wide reviews might be of interest. Individual game reviews tend to be a bit on the dry side, but introducing, comparing and contrasting different elements and designs in a given series could be an interesting approach. The main obstacle with this, even with a relatively small series as Metal Max, is that I’d need to play through relatively long games with loads of content, and properly finish them too, before making such a review. Maybe starting with something that two or three games might be for the best.

Or I’ll really start reviewing game console designs.

I really should loom up if Baiken already has a hi-resolution full-body illustration up and do a another Guilty Gear character comparison. In all honesty, those have been getting nice views across the board, especially from the ones who want to see Jam’s panties.

On some other news, the whole idea of starting voice blogging has been on hold some time now due to all the busy work I’ve been doing, and now things are starting to speed up further. As such, I’m considering picking up some old posts I’ve written and start with those. Maybe not any of the âge related ones as they tend to be long and boring, but perhaps something that doesn’t rely too much on images. I don’t really have confidence on my voice, to be honest, but I do have a certain public speaking and reading voice you’ve heard once or twice on ARG. The voice blogs would be changed a bit from their text form, but considering I do write these posts if I were talking them aloud should make the transition easier. Now if I just could get rid of my accent and pronounce things like a proper American like Evan would. Then again, maybe you’ll enjoy this Northern accent after you’ve accustomed to it. If I manage to get this project off the ground, it wouldn’t replace normal blogging by far.

We are slowly crawling towards 800 posts, 758 with this one, but I may do a Different take on customers early due to a particularly good subjecting presenting itself to me constantly. We’ll see how much time I have on my hands to look into that.

Leave a Reply

