On this day, five years ago…

For five more years

To be completely honest, I have no clear recollection why I started this blog. Much like everything, this blog has been allowed to change with time, and if you go back to page 61, you will see the posts have been made in a very different tone. This tone shift has not been a conscious one, but more or less organic. Just like how people change. I still try to employ a style that’s more how I speak, rather than completely correct English. I have dropped joking about issues, because it’s clear I am not the best comedy writer out there, as many times I’ve seen readers taking a shitty joke as face value serious business.

Currently, excluding this post, there are 610 posts under 23 categories spread widely across 1 572 tags. Without a doubt, the most popular subjects does revolve around âge’s Muv-Luv franchise, with the most popular post being about… Guilty gear Xrd character redesigns. That’s surprising ever for me. Anyway, the blog has touched everything from certain personal issues to social media interactions, from culture to local events, so there’s something for everyone.

From day 1 I have had the rule that I do not advertise myself, the only two exceptions being two social media sites due to specific requests. This has kept the site relatively unknown and small-scale in size, but admittedly I have considered to put up the site up for more public circulation few times over, but never acted. This blog has been, and will always be, a hobby and I am not getting paid by anyone to do anything. I intend to keep it that way, and if in some freak accident I would ever be to employed to write something, it would most likely not be on this site, or I would explicitly state it so.

I have been the only writer for these five years, except for one post that my editor-still-in-break did about Lifeforce’s theme music. While I employ a writer-persona, it’s no secret how my real personality has been influenced by it and vice versa. Sometimes, keeping my two-posts per week rhythm is a bitch to keep up, sometimes it feels like every day could see a new post. It does take an effort in the end, but as this is a hobby, most graphs, images and the like I make and take for the blog are not as good as they could be. I am offering free content in many ways, and with this reality I do cut the time and effort I put into, e.g. charts. I haven’t purchased any domains or the like, simply because I would need a way to get that money back as well, and that would mean doing something that would go against the initial free set I based this blog on.

Will I keep writing this blog for another five years? If the Lord wills it, I don’t see myself stopping. It’s not like any publication would hire me anyway, so I might as well do whatever the fuck I want and the Internet just needs to tolerate that.

But, in the end, I do write to my readers (whoever they are) and for their enjoyment, whatever it is they get out from my incoherent ramblings. I may be an insignificant piece on the grand scheme of the Internet, but if I have managed to bring any enjoyment or information to anyone out there, then this has been worth it. I’m satisfied with less in that way.

Here’s to you, and here’s for five more years. Let’s hope I don’t fuck it up too badly. Cheers.

 

Leave a Reply

